Day 71 Night Time Computing

This is Day 71 of my 365 challenge. My goal at the outset has been to find photo opportunities that are around me everyday. I know there is one subject that is always close by that I haven’t really explored with the camera… me. Now, I am not one to take a lot of self portraits, this is only my third in 71 days after all; but I do think it helps to look at one’s self now and again, other than the self we see in the mirror each day. And as I mentioned earlier, self as a photo opportunity is always close by. I also wanted to work on HDR technique and chose this setting because of the varying density of available light. This is an activity I am engaged in frequently, night time computing. Once I processed the HDR photo, I wanted to de-emphasize the busy background. I added another layer and removed the color, I like this effect.

There is a strange phenomenon that occurs when I see myself in a photo; I look older than when I see myself in a mirror. I think my mind filters what I see when I look in the mirror. The filter for me, is set so that I appear to be in my mid to late twenties, so when I see myself in a photo I think, “wow, who is the old guy”. Maybe that is why I’m not fond of self portraits. I like being on the other side of the lens.

Leave a Reply

