Day 73 The Word

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” John 1:1 ESV

My Bible is worn and torn, ragged around the edges, and there is a story there. I wish I could tell you that it is worn and torn from the many times I’ve opened it to read the Word of God; or it’s worn and torn because I take God’s Word with me everywhere I go. No, neither of those are the reason my Bible is worn and torn. I do read it, but not as often as I should. I have taken it with me, but not as often as I should. One time when I did take my Bible with me so I could read the Word of God while flying, I lost my Bible. When I arrive at my house and unpacked, my Bible was nowhere to be found. I remember having it in the airport after landing, but could not remember placing it back in my bag. I phoned the airport and spoke with someone in the lost and found department. They searched and then told me they were unable to find the Bible. Well, you can imagine my surprise when there was a knock on my door, about 3 weeks later. I answered the door and there was a representative from Bishop Airport holding my now worn, torn, and tattered Bible. Who knows where it had been. I like to think maybe it fell into the hands of someone truly in need of God’s Word, because the Lord knew that person needed to feel the love of God. I will never know, but I like my worn, torn, and tattered Bible.

Leave a Reply

