Day 181 – Lunch Time

Hickory Smoked Beef-stick with Romaine Lettuce

Today’s photo is a food picture. When it comes to food photography, I am a rookie. I do enjoy looking at pictures of food, almost as much as I enjoy eating it. The only problem is, some of the photos look so great, they make me hungry. While I was thinking about what to have for lunch, I decided to shoot my lunch before I prepared it. Pictured above are the ingredients of my lunch, a Hickory Smoked Beef-stick sandwich with Romaine lettuce on whole wheat bread (bread not included in photo). To set up this photo, I placed all of the elements on a wooden cutting board near the window. Natural window light is the only light I used. Camera settings were manual mode, 1/125 @ f/5.6, RAW format, then processed in Lightroom 4. After looking at the picture, I wondered what it would look like as a sepia toned photo. The picture below is the same photo, but processed as sepia tone.
Hickory Smoked Beef-stick with Romaine Lettuce – sepia

In the case of food, at least in this case, I think the color version is more appealing, although the texture of the romaine lettuce seems to stand out more in the sepia. What are your thoughts? If you have any food photography tips, please share them. All comments are welcome.

Leave a Reply

