Day 183 – The Simple Life

Today we visited Mike and Mary Ann, everyone calls her “Stu”. Upon arriving, we noticed Stu’s car was not in the drive. Vicki sent a quick text and received the response from Stu, that she was at her son’s house and wouldn’t be home for a while. As they texted back and forth, I noticed the window on the side of their barn. I really like to photograph windows and doors, so I said to Vicki, “I’ll be right back”. As I was walking up to get a nice shot of the window, I noticed the day lillies in front of the barn. I really like the combination of the day lillies against the old barn wood and weathered window. As I took a few more steps and moved in closer, I noticed the old, rusty bicycle leaning against the galvanized wall of the barn, so I shot a couple more pictures.
I really like the way the sun was shining on the bike, almost like a spot light drawing my attention to it. I also like the contrast of the rust on the bike against the blueish tint of the galvanized steel wall. I zoomed in on the rear wheel of the bike to capture the unique detail, they sure don’t make them like this anymore.
Finally, I processed the bike as a sepia tone image to really add to that antique feel. The bike, the barn, the old window, remind me of simpler times when things were slower; it was a harder life, that’s for sure, but at a much slower pace. I’m not really sure if I would want to go back in time… after all, back in yesteryear, they didn’t have digital SLR cameras, cell phones, or blogs. Maybe the simple life is not all it’s cracked up to be.
🙂

20120702-092707.jpg

Leave a Reply

