Day 217 – D.I.Y. Pringles Speedlight Snoot


I am always looking to add to my photography gear. The problem with adding to my gear is, everything I want to add usually has a high price tag. One of the pieces that I’ve been meaning to add for quite a while is a snoot for my Nikon SB900. A snoot is a light modifier that concentrates the light from the flash down to a much smaller point. It is very useful in portraits as a hair light, adding dimension and separation from the background. I was looking at ordering a snoot on Amazon, then wondered if I could make one myself. So I googled do it yourself snoot for speedlight and found a Youtube instruction video from Conrad, “Do-it-yourself: Speedlight Snoot”. Wow, how much easier could a project be? Off to Meijer I went and $1.79 later, I had my new gadget as shown above. Thank you Conrad for posting the youtube instructional video.

Leave a Reply

