Day 238 – Dads, Daughters and Dating


One of the hardest adjustments for me as a father, has been to remain civil and not overprotective when my daughter Amanda began dating. Dads, you know what I mean. This is my little girl, even though she is a young lady, I still feel like I need to protect her. Early on when Amanda was 5 or 6 we agreed that she would not date until she turned 25. She broke her end of the deal. When you get right down to it, we dads just want to make sure that our daughters are treated with respect and kindness. We may come off as being over protective bears, but it’s just our way of making sure that our daughters are being treated properly. As a father we want to make sure that the young man that comes a callin’ is a gentleman who will give you a firm handshake and look you in the eye when he talks to you. This is my daughter Amanda pictured above with her boyfriend Eric. Eric is a gentleman and seems to genuinely care for Amanda, and he treats her like a lady. My daughter is happy and that’s the main thing right fellow dads?

Leave a Reply

